Tenacity. Creativity. Results.

Request a

Free Consultation

How can we help you?

6 Things to Know About President Trump's Immigration Executive Order

Just days after President Trump was sworn in as the 45th President of the United States, he followed through with campaign promises to tighten border control by issuing an Executive Order that temporarily bans travel from 7 countries. The ban, which has gained widespread attention and criticism throughout the world, specifically targets countries with a Muslim-majority population, though White House officials have stated it is not designed as a ban on Muslims.

As a firm that helps individuals, families, and businesses throughout Maine and Northern New England with legal issues pertaining to residency, visas, and immigration, Shaheen & Gordon, P.A. is staying fully apprised of the Executive Order to provide counsel to clients and others who may be impacted by the ban. Below, we have outlined a few important things to know about President Trump’s Executive Order.

  1. As of January 27, 2017, citizens from the following 7 countries are prohibited from entering the United States for 90 days: Syria, Somalia, Yemen, Libya, Iraq, Sudan, and Iran.
  2. The Executive Order suspends the Syrian refugee program indefinitely. In addition, the refugee program is suspended for 120 days in order for officials to determine the risks of nationalities who may qualify for refugee status.
  3. Because a provision of the Executive Order suspends immigrants and nonimmigrants from entering the U.S. if they come from any of the above 7 nations, individuals with green cards (lawful permanent residents) may potentially be denied entry and detained when returning to the United States. There have been reports of lawful permanent residents who were denied re-entry into America and detained. The largest concern is that this provision (under Section 3) can apply to permanent residents of the United Stated who may have been out of country visiting relatives, working, acting as government interpreters, or providing medical support.
  4. Visa holders, either temporary or permanent, who come from any of the 7 above nations who have not yet engaged in international travel need to be aware that they will be prevented from boarding an airplane in the foreign country or denied re-entry upon return to the U.S. Reports have confirmed visa holders who have been prohibited from boarding a plane in Jordan, as well as reports of immigrants with visas who got on planes successfully, but were later detained by immigration authorities at a U.S. port of entry.
  5. Per the Executive Order, consular posts and U.S. embassies have been informed to cancel visa interviews and suspend issuing immigrant and nonimmigrant visas for nationals who hail from any of the 7 countries.
  6. Federal courts in Brooklyn and Boston have granted emergency stays on the enforcement of the Executive Order.

For the time being, immigration officials are enforcing the ban on a case by case basis, and it remains to be seen just how extensively how the Executive Order will impact individuals, families, and numerous businesses who have ties to the 7 countries. As such, it is strongly advised that anyone with concerns regarding the ban seek legal counsel, especially before leaving or re-entering the county.

Our immigration legal team at Shaheen & Gordon, P.A. is available to assist anyone who has questions regarding the Executive Order and their immigration status, as well as businesses who have questions about the immigration status of foreign national employees.

Contact our firm to speak with an immigration lawyer today.

Categories: Immigration